Want (poem)

I want to begin where I left off
I want to go somewhere where I am not

but I don’t really want
that

I want you to hold my hand
or at least be within arms reach
should I need to reach out
or have you glance at me
to conceal connubial regard
a passing glance that no one will notice
except us

I might lean in and steal loose change
from this wishing fountain
People made wishes when they
threw coins in this wishing fountain
No one is looking
I want to know what it is like
to hold a coin of someone who made a wish

I do this

I wish you were here
I want you
I am dishonest and disloyal
and I want you

 

 

 

 

Picture Truman Capote 1959

Leave a Reply

